A Tale Of Martyrs

This is a very popular old tale I recount here. Handed down from the European sector.

It goes something like this;

In the time of the early Church, when persecution was rife, there were forty Christians imprisoned because they would not recant the Christian religion.

This took place in old Armenia.

The prisoners were led to a frozen lake in the cold of Winter. On the shore were, tubs of water, metallic, heated and awaiting any who would recant. Also by the tubs were blankets and fresh new clothing.

They (The Christians) were made to strip down naked. Freezing at the point of swords and spears, ordered to march out in within sight to the middle of the frozen lake.

The soldiers stood guard, watching, waiting.

Meanwhile…

Singing hymns, it was a brief matter of time, and they began to drop one by one, though they tried to comfort one another in whatever way they could.

Dying frozen. Voices silenced on earth, but not in Heaven.

Then when but one remained, slipping, and in desperation, he made it to shore, went in the warm tub. Got out, dried himself in the blanket and got dressed, begun to walk away a free man on this earth, when…..

As the story goes, while the Soldiers waited, to ensure the death of those upon the ice, one of the Soldiers, lost his mind.

So it is said of him…

Beginning to frantically undress, and run towards the throng of dead Saints, he was heard to have yelled out; “I’m coming Angel, I’m coming.”

He joined the dead, even in death.

Trying to explain what occurred some said that; “He saw forty Angels come down from Heaven with forty Crowns in their hands, but one could not find a head to lay the Crown upon.”

In Revelations 3:11 reads;

Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

I can be reached at turbans713@yahoo.com, and
https://kingrat1397@gmail.com, and at Facebook as Miguel Angel Oquendo (Mickey) or either one of these two good men can be reached; Rev. Bod Schembre of Missouri or Pastor Angel L. Oquendo of Ministerio APG, Pembroke Pines, on Facebook (English and Spanish).

3 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this Story Mike, it does have some Truth, there is a Crown we are to aim for before we die as Paul did, when we are Perfected in Love we are Righteous and we no longer sin as the Scriptures confirm, Jesus is Righteous, He lives withing us and he never sinned, yes He was the only one Born of a woman’s flesh that was Good but than He was One in Spirit within The Godhead or Trinity as They are called today a relatively new word but meaning the same as The Godhead, Three in One.

    1 John 5: 7 For there are Three that bear record in Heaven, The Father, The Word, and The Holy Ghost and these Three are One.(K.J.V)

    1 Corinthians 6:17 But he that is joined unto the Lord is One Spirit.(KJV)

    Philippians 3: 12-14 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made Perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me Heavenward in Christ Jesus.

    2 Timothy 4: 7-8 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the Faith. Now there is in store for me the Crown of Righteousness, which the Lord, the Righteous Judge, will award to me on that day and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for His appearing

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Anne for stopping by, I have all your links on a word pad, am slowly but surely working my way through them. And your comments, I want you to know are going to help my blog, perhaps I shouldn’t write this here (give it a way), point is almost no one visits my blog, which really doesn’t bother me a great deal, but one thing I know, when the knuckleheads see commenting they read through the comments, and their interest is kindled, wink wink. Bye for now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

