A Change Up

The following is a lesson learned. It also illustrates the running interference of the Holy Spirit in our lives, should we permit it.

My oldest daughter is a feisty cantankerous female. Yes you guessed it, pretty much I created a monster.

She’s a leader, recognized as such by everyone who makes her acquaintance. She knows you the moment she sees you, without prior knowledge. She’s a well read individual. She’s presently a PLPC (Provisionally Licensed Therapist, 3,000 in the field, will shortly be a LPC; Fully Licensed) to children.

Many freedoms were allowed her because I expected a great deal from her. One of her handicaps, in my opinion is a “blind confidence”, of which I’ve warned her often enough.

This retelling is not about that (above). But as you might guess by all this preamble, we clashed quite often. Competitive.

I had two daughters who lived together at the time of this occurrence. My oldest one, Opal and Amethyst, my youngest. In the same household they had three kids. One from each,and a third one from my middle child who had so many problems due to a singling out abuse projected at her from my ex wife.

They both wanted to go to college while working. Dad to the rescue as Nanny. Mom did not want to do it. So there I found myself doing everything for those three kids, day and night, home work, teacher, cook, baths, etc..

As you know by now, this tale is about a clash between my oldest, Opal and I. She would get in moods from time to time, and hit me hard (criticism). I had allowed her a certain amount of freedom growing up so that she was free to question authority. It showed even now, as a young woman.

She was in one of her moods. She was a caffeine and a cigarette fiend. She had a hard day at work. Blah blah blah blah. Complaints; I didn’t do this, I didn’t do that. Ordinarily this would escalate, us being two of a kind. I would hit her hard (criticize) right back, target her weakness, verbally. As you could see, there would be no solutions here. Such was the custom.

At the moment, I was going nuts over a stove with all four ranges going. Four pots, timing and stirring. As usual, I had a load of Espresso in my veins (one of the reasons for the escalating of our confrontations, working within both of us). My thoughts while my chest was heaving in anger, shaking like a volcano about to erupt (the caffeine); (my thought..) “Lord help me, you know that these fights never get us anywhere”, “I’m tired of these fights, Lord please”.

She; Complaining about this and that.

Me; “Okay, what are these things that you insist I take care of, list them now, one by one…”

She; Listed one.

Me; “Done, and what else…”

She; Listed another.

Me; “Done, what else..”

So it went until she had exhausted her list of complaints. I guaranteed that none of those things would be left undone before her arrival.

Somewhat disarmed, she dropped her arms, in moderate defeat, turned around and walked back into her room, to her television, coffee and smoke. She was in her mid twenties.

Me, remaining over the pots cooking. Not a moment had gone by she comes out of her room, with the smile of the cat who ate the canary, and says;

“Dad, that was the best argument we ever had.”

Maybe you can tell by this story, what an amazing kid God had given me. I love her to death.

Thanks for reading, Sincerely; MAO

I can be reached at turbans713@yahoo.com, and
https://kingrat1397@gmail.com, and at face book as Miguel Angel Oquendo, And at https://www.facebook.com/BiblicallyReferencingHumanNature/ And the blog; andnowmiguel.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

