Opal’s Letter

Opal is my oldest daughter. You can read about this remarkable person in “A Change Up”, and “Opal’s Poem”. First Born, is what we used to refer to her with, after she saw, and loved a Movie with the same title.

As a kid, she was always in your face. “I am here”, see me, recognize me, acknowledge me.

One day she came to visit me at work. She went around cleaning tables and talking to the customers. Taking drinks (non Alcohol) to them, and food items. She chatted up my boss, Mr. Jack, as he insisted on being addressed. Laughing with her. I paid them no mind, I had to run the place. We referred to it as the 5th Avenue store. My bosses had several others in Manhattan, New York.

“She’s so personable”, he said of Opal.

A leader, all the kids she knew saw her as the leader of the pack.

Now, to get to “Opal’s Letter”;

She was a woman now. Did a lot of College years, accredited. Working as a Therapist for kids. She had done some work in the Prisons with inmates, groups. When that was done, at the end they all were in love with her. It was over, saying goodbyes, she cried.

She had sat under my preaching, my teaching of Bible characters, and now she was a better image of her Dad. More accomplished, more responsible.

I had let them down, my three daughters. Opal who saw potential in me was perhaps, more let down than the other two. She grew up to shut me out of her life. For years, I got no word from her.

From early on she was given a great deal of charge over her two little sisters. So it was only natural that she would use that same measure on me. I failed to measure up.

This resentment and disappointment built up as the years went on. Unforgiven.

I don’t know the circumstances, but her boss, a Professor, insisted that she write me a letter, outlining all the areas I had disappointed her in. Write it and not mail it. She said that she would not. The Professor kept at her. She relented, of course under, stubborn protest.

She wrote the letter on her laptop. It wasn’t easy.

She felt it was a waste of time and energy, foolish, and unnecessary.

Next……

The Phone Call…

Me; “Hi Opal, I just want to tell you how sorry I am that I couldn’t be the kind of Father you  counted on me to be…..”

I just went on. Clearly aware of all the areas I had disappointed this wonderful and amazing human being. I knew nothing about the letter. Nothing about the urging of her boss/Professor.

She broke down, trembling and crying.

Later in telling me; “It was as if you had read and answered my letter.”

Of course, I had grown much more in the Lord through breaking, at the time of the phone call.

This is a true account. I don’t like drama. This really happened. We spent about four hours shooting the breeze on the phone just two nights ago. The events described happened about over a year and a half ago.

I had, through God’s lead, regained my little girl, precocious Opal.

I wish the same for you if you have a similar situation. Avoid the drama. Open up, admit your failures, tell of your fears, your hurt. Of course begin with God. The way to him is Christ.

Thanks for reading. Much love; MAO

I can be reached at turbans713@yahoo.com, and
https://kingrat1397@gmail.com, and at face book as Miguel Angel Oquendo, And at https://www.facebook.com/BiblicallyReferencingHumanNature/ And the blog; andnowmiguel.wordpress.com/
Or you can contact these folk; Rev. Bob Schembre (Missouri), or Ministerio APG  (Pastor Angel L. Oquendo, Spanish and English, Florida) both on Face Book.

One comment

  1. Reblogged this on andnowmiguel and commented:

    Here’s something from early this year, call it a recapturing if you will. I was moved to make the call, I knew nothing about the letter. I hope you could use something like this at this time of year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

