UTM/ITU (A reprint on behavior)

I bring you this old post, I resurrect it due to the infrequent traffic on my blog. New faces pass through here, and so….

I will be giving you, in this post, a great gift.
As some of you know, the Lord, through the years has provided me with some extraordinary tools with which to assess human nature.
This is one of the sweetest and most remarkable. You don’t have to go and get a degree on Psychology to appreciate or understand the mechanics of this tool, and you can build upon it quite easily in retrospect.
It can simplify quite a bit about anxiety.

I call it UTM/ITU; you test me/I test you
When I tell you the delightful story of how this tool was tested in my experience, you just might see the logic of it.

Permit me a moment here. A lot of people read my stuff and just crawl back to their secure and protected lives. Illussion wise protected, preserving what they believe to be a “sanity”. What they actually protect is a construct of “reality” and not reality.
But let me give you this delightful tool.

I had been experimenting with this idea, knowing it to be quite logical. Quite applicable in theory. But came the day that it revealed itself to me in a life scenario.

Here’s the story;

I was a Nanny to three of my Granddaughters. Their Moms were working jobs and attending College.
On this morning I had prepared and served breakfast. Once done with that, all three had gotten dressed and packed their school stuff.
There was time now to help Mimi with preparation for a test she was to take on this day.
I made a makeshift test of the material. She took the test (20 questions) and failed them all. We went over the answers with corrections, of course. I prepared her the best I could, plus prayed for the best. I helped her with her coat as it was Winter time in NYC.. Mimi was the baby.

In the streets of Brooklyn NY on the way to school, walking.

Right then, it was that she bagan her discourse.

She began to ask me one question after the other, and this questioning was all based on a field trip she had taken with her class. Animals and nature. I got all the answers wrong or just gave up, and she supplied the correct answer. There we were now directly across from her School, having walked there (me holding her lovely little hand).
It hit me…..

This is precisely that thing I had been developing; UTM/ITU
Yes, I admit, I did the proverbial slap on the forehead thing.

Allow me to present the breakdown of what just transpired;

UTM/ITU (one last time: you test me/I test you) is all about how representational things, situations, in life provoke us to anxiety by finding, concluding us as short, IE with lack, or lacking.
The wonderful premise is that because when under the presence (or scrutiny) of that thing we come up short, in order to diminish said anxiety produced by having come up short by that “thing, or situation”, we must do something to discredit it. And hence; ITU (I test you).

And so, her precious little head found in stock her field trip, and how many wonderful little facts she had retained from memory, so she conducted her onslaught against Grandpa, posing one question after the other. She was driven by her anxiety, by her lack (provoked by the test preparation Gramps employed), being assessed as short (contrast the upcoming in class test assessment).

First, at this juncture, it should be clear that there would be a great deal of things like this in life which when we find ourselves in proximity to them (those things which assess or threaten in our minds to assess us) we would react in being flooded with some anxiety. And yes you might see a clearer picture now of why a loved one or you yourself go on the defensive at times. This knowledge therefore can make us more compassionate towards one another.

Remember; UTM/ITU
You test me/I test you
If you cause me discrediting by your assessment of me….I’m left with no option but to discredit you that I may regain my foothold (diminish my anxiety).

This is the cause of many rebellions, fights, etc..

This key, UTM/ITU, goes a longer distance than presented here. Many applications. IE It builds.

If this post has lifted a veil of confusion from around your life, I urge you to peruse my archives for more knowledge like this which God has seen fit to give me.

I can be reached at turbans713@yahoo.com, and
https://kingrat1397@gmail.com, and at face book as Miguel Angel Oquendo, And at https://www.facebook.com/BiblicallyReferencingHumanNature/ And the blog; andnowmiguel.wordpress.com/
Or you can contact these folk; Rev. Bob Schembre (Missouri), or Ministerio APG  (Pastor Angel L. Oquendo, Spanish and English, Florida) both on Face Book.

20 comments

  1. Shocking yet funny …. I can relate with this with so much reality ,as I was getting my ten year old prepared for Maths test tommorow .She couldnt reply and questioned me back with the same intensity ,she was testing me and I was testing her , the next moment we both were on the defensive mode .. She said Ma you dont know what is peremeter? And few minute later she gained foot hold … I felt like This is written for me a hint by God . Trust me I am still shocked .. It will really help me in my real life no doubt . Thank you so much .. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Again, I must point out, you see, a spirit to learn (you) questing, wanting, disposed to be taught by the Love, and Spirit of God, is what enables you to make sense, when He puts a thing before you. I’m blessed to have made your acquaintance on the blogging world.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. And now the point people read and crawl what I have observed in this short time in this Writing World is : It is same like the Worldly affair . Give and take , you recieve what you give , very less people really read others just competes ,. You comment one you recieve one that too if the work is underatandable . Work like yours is a little higher level work. For a Layman like me half of the things go above the head 🙂 and it is my personal thought .. 🙂 but I enjoy reading your post very much thank you and keep sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for valuing what I do. I sincerely appreciate it. I want to share something at this point of our correspondence which I also think you will appreciate. A big obstacle to folks perceiving what I put on the table, often is that in their mind everything relative to God is “religion”, approaching it with that understanding they then stand to lose a load in comprehension, and power. Once they approach it with the “possibility” that it is not a way of life, but “Life”, then they stand a chance of profiting. Unless the Spirit of God opens up one’s Spiritual eyes, one cannot see or understand. It turns out that it is “indoctrination” which is in the way of perception and reception. I don’t say that as a put down, but to point out the misfortune.

      Liked by 1 person

      • See I told you half of things above head 😉 Lol !!! See if we reach the crux we know what we are there for . I know my anxiety and the yearn to learn and to earn ,crossing the hurdles of Life . What matters is hapiness , and God is also pleased if you are happy he gives us signs but we don’t or say cant see due to anxiety . Always anxious what next not satisfied with what we have:( .. and than we blame God .

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, good point. Often we run the gamut of life, as laid out by society, and we in getting no where, like in achieving fame, power, wealth yet find destruction even here in this life, might, yes, put the blame on God, accusing Him of not recognizing our good deeds (works for the poor etc.). The failure is that we performed those good deeds from a dead mind to validate us, when all that God wished was that we would validate Him. Allow Him to come reside within.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Do you realise in our conversation we write almost half a dozen blog posts instead of comments, support or compliments .. by the end of the montg we can publish a book on our conversations … wah ! What an Idea Sir ji 😉 .. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • First, I laughed. Then I composed myself enough to say several things (more posts in the comments, ha); Folks who read a post might just stumble across a comment or two, and find the idea on the post elucidated upon. This is good and providential. Also the section in the blog machinery restricted, supposedly for the post, is not always going to be the place wherefrom God in His Grace chooses to reach out to the world and speak from. Trust me, I’m not saying anything you have not thought of.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ekla chalo ekla chalo re , Bondhu ekla chalo re ! An old freedom fight song written by a very famous Freedom Fighter .. It is written in Bengali, it means: Friend keep moving even if you are alone move aLone dont stop for any one , people will follow you themselves . First they ask Why and later the same asks How .. So keep Heading and moving 🙂 👍

        Liked by 1 person

    • And yes, you are right, correct, people feel that they possess a school of thought and are required to compare notes with you; Mine versus yours. I don’t despair when this happens for often, it is as if they are asking you to help them to rid themselves of misconceptions. If I see it in this light it helps me to deal, keep on moving forward.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

