The Poor Run

2 Timothy 4:8

“Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

______________________________________________________________

I’ve had a poor run

Where things of this world are concerned

I never did get on

where earthly negotiable values are earned

In fact many things were withheld from me I’m sure

An invisible hand, the unforeseen

Yes it was that alone, that hand which for me did secure

the wonder, the gleaming sheen

Were it not for that I would be some other thing

He prepared the way before me

His provisions of Grace made my heart to sing

Instead of all my flesh did see

For me to be was but for Him to inhabit

For Him to be present

brass ring’s allure thwarted to grab it

A mere shining crescent

I saw from a great distance

ere I’d mounted the height

worked in good resistance

amidst the weighty blight

my feet and hands were instructed

but no, it was not I, not I

for ’twas His will I oft obstructed

earthly themes wot I, wot I

Yes I was no good, hear me now

But thanks to His love, planning a thing better

His precious blood stained brow

which prepared my safety, making of me a debtor

Oh inhabit, please inhabit now

This fickle life is mine no how

Sustenance I have fed this flesh

and you of Eternal, and heavenly things the Spirit

Of the first at times I could retch

Of the second naught of mine could e’en spear it

I’ve had a poor run of the things of this life

yet if not for His hand, death would run rife

taking up within me scars and ruin

to find home within, and accrue in

To all I have known, for me weep not

Laurels for value upon me heap not

Do have some kind thing to say of me if you’re able

For ’twas Faith bought the crumbs fell off the table

_____________________________________________

Hope you have enjoyed this. Your friend sincerely; MAO

Speak to me in the comments below, or at kingrat1397@gmail.com or on face book as Miguel Angel Oquendo (“Mickey” of Huachuca City, Az.)

Also these very reliable men might be near your area; Reverend Angel L. Oquendo (my Brother) at MinisterioAPG (Pembroke Pines Florida) on face book (Spanish and English), or Reverend Bob Schembre on face book also (Missouri).

Leave a Reply

