Another Poem

“Love”

 

Romance, oh romance, art thou “Love”?

My soul yearneth, hungereth aft

that thing which my soul has dire need of

Oh my mind feels it’s going daft

 

Is it love I need or is it romance?

What a dilemma in truth, indeed

I don’t look a gift horse askance

I don’t examine the trough of feed

 

The presence of this wasteland inside

Which sends me out by leaps and bounds

This abyss which doth within me reside

Like a banshee upon unhallowed grounds

 

Restless, yes furtively pursuing a thing

So ephemeral it conjures yet more of a kind

drawing in, amassing thy length oh string

Pulling, hauling, yet unknowingly to find

 

horror upon horror, or pleasure sublime

How will it then be? As it has gone in the past?

Oh my, what’s that rhyme, lemon or lime..

And what sail shall I unfurl to adorn my mast?

 

While Love brings peace

Romance brings drama

Love provides surcease

Of the vintage diorama

 

Romance provides food for the ego

Love instills healing and security

With here once again “heck, we go”

Romance gives passion’s obscurity

 

Surely then, yes, romance is a masquerade

Malign and procuring devastation

More energizing than a bottle of Gatorade

Revitalizing in human procreation

 

Yes, no stranger to human nature

is romance’s heights of self elevation

No daughter, son of wise legislature

Yet Love’s not a feeble minded creation

 

Oh well then, enough you’ve convinced me

There’s rest and peace without romance

Value contained by conjecture evinced. Gee

Tempting is romance for sure at a glance

 

Why bother to be desperate and a bit player

When one can aspire to heavenly Glory

Unadorned by passion’s perfidious betrayer

Rewrit, refitted symbols abused in a story

 

For Glory is not drama awaiting applause

But instead the light which awaits us above

I’ll don the much indescernible just cause

bypassing romance and vaunt instead Love

==========================================================================

I hope you have enjoyed this ridiculous rhyme, thanks for your visit. You can talk to me in the comments below or at kingrat1397@gmail.com, or message me on face book as Miguel Angel Oquendo (“Mickey” of Huachuca City, Az.)

In reference to eternal matters also (Of which I normally write about)……

Also these very reliable men might be near your area; Reverend Angel L. Oquendo (my Brother) at MinisterioAPG (Pembroke Pines Florida) on face book (Spanish and English), or Reverend Bob Schembre on face book also (Missouri)

 

Leave a Reply

