The Bright Side

1997……

I am sitting at a Blimpie on Main Street Paterson NJ. On my break eating.

In walks this dude with a beautiful VCR, cello sealed. Attempts to sell it to the owner of the restaurant. The dude who owns the Jewelry store across the street (had been chatting up my boss as is the custom of store owners; exclusive club) jumps at the opportunity. Sixty dollars exchanges hands. Like the flash, the sweating dude (cool weather), seller, is not even viewed to hit the door and exit. Yet the next second is no where to be seen.

In disbelief, the jewelry store owner is bemoaning his foolishness, with cellophane in hand and a beautifully painted display of sunk in buttons on a box, glistening black paint, a uncanny likeness of a VCR.

Try and imagine these things mass produced by a Moriarty type mastermind and a slue of street urchins who would lay out the price for one that they may find the mark, who is aflame with the spirit of hope, this is my lucky day. And I even got the cash ready at hand (so is stirred the spirit of the would be buyer). What does this (bulging pockets) make of me; Why, even more luckier. Ha…

They both run to the door, impossible. No sight of this dude. Gone.

I smile at this. Seen a lot of this in my time working the restaurants in Times Square, many years. And just riding the Subways in NYC.

As I pass by the Jewelry store owner to return to my post. I say; “Look on the bright side.” He looks at me disinterested cause I’m no store owner, just a petty restaurant employee. I continue; “You could never pay enough money for a lesson like this.”

Naturally, he looks at me as if I said this with malice. I could see the lesson was wasted upon him. Had he paid for this lesson, it would have had no effect, no shock value, for he’d known it was coming. I’ve had such lessons and value them. They impress your life, unforgettable.

Thanks for the visit, I can be reached at kingrat1397@gmail.com or on Face Book as Miguel Angel Oquendo (“Mickey” of Huachuca City, Az.)

Also these very reliable men might be near your area; Reverend Angel L. Oquendo (my Brother) at MinisterioAPG (Pembroke Pines Florida) on face book (Spanish and English), or Reverend Bob Schembre on face book also (Missouri

Leave a Reply

