A Hail Of Bullets/Loved Ones/And The Unseen

Brooklyn Canarsie, New York City.

Mid 1970’s.

My immediate family and I awaited a City bus on E. 108th St. and Flatlands Ave..

Breukelen Housing projects. Attempting to make our way to Church on a Sunday. My Wife, a Toddler, and a 8 and 10 year old (five of us). A portrait of a mixed American family. Scrubbed clean, dressed in picturesque colors. Beautiful folk. Strange but we were in a good place. Why? Because front and center we’d got ourselves all spic and span that we might go worship God on that Sunday morning. That was the good place.

Talking silliness to one another, as I had taught everyone to be, always happy.

Then to the right coming up towards us were entrepreneurs of the City. About 30 feet away. And over to the left also another group of enterprising young men across from E. 108th St. as we were on the corner. They start yelling at one another, and gunfire ringing out at least four guns to a group. We were in the middle.

As the first shot rang out, I snatched up the two little ones and yelled for Opal and Marlene to follow me. Plan was to get out from under the line of fire. I directed Marlene and Opal to turn to the left around the ring of chains cordoning off the grass to the projects. My heart jumped to my throat, as I saw that Opal was headed to the gunfire ensuing from the crowd on the left. I yelled like a maniac; “Opal to the left, left Opal, this way.” with a kid under each arm, as upon hearing she veered and went left. Opal was the ten year old.

We went into the building. Marlene was the first one to laugh. Seeing as none of us was harmed. Life in the City. When the street cleared we went back out to wait for the bus.

We searched the kids thoroughly. No signs of injury. The Church was delighted to know that we weren’t harmed. That night and for at least a month thereafter, I cringed in my sleep with visions of Opal running in the wrong direction. How could I make this family stronger, how could I make them hear my voice.

But God sought to comfort me with visions of an unseen Angel slapping bullets away. My weight seemed to diminish as I saw the Unseen.

Thanks for the visit, I can be reached at kingrat1397@gmail.com or on Face Book as Miguel Angel Oquendo (“Mickey” of Huachuca City, Az.)

Also these very reliable men might be near your area; Reverend Angel L. Oquendo (my Brother) at MinisterioAPG (Pembroke Pines Florida) on face book (Spanish and English), or Reverend Bob Schembre on face book also (Missouri)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

